Award Finalist... - footballivenews
Connect with us

American Football

Award Finalist…



Once again, Harrison Phillips is gaining recognition for his community efforts. The NFL Players Association recently announced him as one of the five finalists for the Alan Page Community Award. Phillips, already nominated by the Vikings for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year, saw his foundation receive a $10,000 donation as one of the finalists. The other finalists include Lions center Frank Ragnow, Bills safety Damar Hamlin, Commanders tackle Charles Leno, and Falcons defensive lineman Calais Campbell. The ultimate winner, to be revealed on Feb. 7, will receive an additional $100,000 for a charity of their choice.

Pro Football Talk writer Josh Alper highlighted the award’s recent history, with Hamlin winning last year for overcoming cardiac arrest during a game and Campbell earning the Walter Payton Man of the Year in 2019. Leno was a finalist for the Alan Page Community Award last year due to his Leno Claus initiative.

Phillips, previously a finalist in 2020 while with the Buffalo Bills, has become a consistent presence in the Minnesota community since joining the Vikings in 2022. Actively participating in team events year-round, supporting Vikings charitable endeavors, and endorsing his foundation, Harrison’s Playmakers, Phillips has made a significant impact.

Notably, Cris Carter (1999) and Chad Greenway (2015) previously secured the award while playing for the Vikings. The NFLPA Community Award was renamed in 2018 to honor Alan Page, a Pro Football Hall of Famer, Vikings Ring of Honor defensive lineman, and retired Minnesota Supreme Court Justice. Page and his late wife, Diane, established the Page Education Foundation in 1988, which has awarded $17 million in Page Grants to 8,500 Page Scholars dedicated to educational goals and volunteer service.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *